Erin Go Braugh at the Cabin

 

Wine Women of West Virginia had their cabin weekend starting on St Patrick’s Day.  We unanimously agreed that we had to change our name. The reasoning behind the name change is we no longer just drink wine. To be honest we never just drank wine but our main focus was wine.  Our five year mission was to seek out new bottles of wine, to discover wines other than chardonnay and merlot, to boldly go where we had not gone before.  Ok so that sounds a little like Star Trek but it works.

So back to our name change. It is a work in progress.  I was thinking the Wise Women of West Virginia.  What do you all think?

Our five year mission was a success.  We found many, many, many wines that we liked and have a list of ones we love. In the coming posts I will spotlight the really good ones. But women can not live by bread and wine alone.  So we have a new mission to create drinks with spirits and when I say spirits I mean vodka, gin and whiskey!  Some of those drinks were introduced this weekend.  The theme was green.  It’s not easy being green and it’s not easy making green drinks that taste good but I do believe our resident bartenders came up with two very good ones which I will share in a later post.

Aside from drinking being at the cabin helps all of us fill our energy tanks.  Mine was exceptionally low.  But as we drove up the mountain, I could feel the tension draining.  For me there is nothing that compares to the energy the mountains hold.  Being March the weather was very unsettled.  One day it snowed which made my heart sing.  Looking out onto the tree lined mountains I watched the snow gently falling.  The smell of the air was crisp.  I think snow smells great.  People think I am crazy when I say that but when it snows the air just smells different. Whatever, I loved it.  We made a fire and sat around and laughed with a glass of wine in our hand.  So Great.

One thing that was a little disappointing was that Saturday steak night was canceled due to rain.  Torrential ran so lighting a fire in the fire pit was so out of the question.  But we did manage to have our Friday Pizza night and there were some new and fantastic pizza creations.  I will need to pull together the ingredients and share.

Leave a Reply

